IAPFC Logo  

Iowa Association of

Professional Fire Chiefs




  Executive Board





  External Links



  Contact Us



Iowa Association of Professional Fire Chiefs announce Scholarship Program Professional Fire Chiefs partner with Waldorf College to offer scholarship for Iowa’s firefighters. The Iowa Association of Professional Fire Chiefs are proud to announce a partnership with Waldorf College in Forrest City, Iowa in the creation of the Waldorf College/Iowa Association of Professional Fire Chiefs Support for Education scholarship. The scholarship provides funding for the on-line program and is intended to promote higher education for Iowa’s fire service members. The scholarship provides 60 credit hours or 24 months of classes, whichever comes first. The potential value of the scholarship is $17,000 and the scholarship may be used in any of Waldorf’s on-line programs. The scholarship will be awarded annually.

The scholarship is open to any firefighter who is an active member in good standing of a State, County, Municipal, Community, Industrial, Tribal or Federal Fire Department located within the State of Iowa who has obtained firefighter certification recognized by the Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau. Further eligibility requirements include:

A high school transcript, GED certificate, or former college transcript;

Two letters of recommendation of which at least one letter must be from the applicant’s Fire Chief;

An essay of not more than 1,250 words.

Application packets can be downloaded here.


Applications are due by 5 p.m. on the first Monday in February with the award being made in early April at the IAPFC Conference.

For additional Information, contact:

Chief Jerry Holt
Urbandale Fire Department
3927 121st Street
Urbandale, IA 50323
(515) 278-3970

Scholarship Winners

The Scholarship winners are as follows:

2020 - Chief Ray Reynolds - Nevada Fire Department

2019 - Captain Phil Arensdorf - Dubuque Fire Department

2018 - Shift Commander Karen Tapper - Ames Fire Department

2017 - Lt. Matt Lehman - West Des Moines Fire Department

2016 - Brooks Burkhart - Cedar Rapids Fire Department

2015 - Senior Medic Jeramie Eginoire - Des Moines Fire Department

2014 - FF/PM Paul Koenig - Cedar Rapids Fire Department

2013 - DC Mathew K. Powers - Hiawatha Fire Department

2012 - Lt. Dan Birkett - Urbandale Fire Department



Member of the Missouri Valley Division

Missouri Valley Division 




Iowa Fire Chiefs Association


Copyright © 2010 The Iowa Association of Professional Fire Chiefs.  All rights reserved.

Updated January 6, 2021